The unknown and the known.

Scalability has always been an issue I have found intriguing. Some like to call it sustainability with growth. I prefer the former. How do you foresee the final outcome of your efforts if not scalability? While working you always tend to address and think about what it will take to make it big, dent the system, rake in the maximum or capitalize on the unknown. The theory of an Antilibrary seems to provide the answer to me. What you know doesn’t matter as much as what you don’t. It aint like taking a negative stance on things. It’s more to do with focusing on the bigger, unexplainable and random occurrences that has the capability to redefine the ways in which you lead your life.

What some people fail to understand when they point to the comfort of the ‘constant’ is that they concentrate on the known to plan for the future which in itself is a flawed strategy. Future has always intrigued mankind. With advancement in mathematical and statistical procedures men have come to believe in their ability to control things before they occur of itself. They tend to gravitate towards the notion that human intelligence can now defy the course of the future. Randomness is a highly under-rated phenomena. We are constantly fighting to eliminate what comes of it and despite repeatedly failed attempts we maintain an unwavering faith in the scientific pursuits of the elimination of this bizarre yet frequent phenomena.

Some people stand out. They focus on those obscure and abstract principles. They leave their fate hanging onto those very random occurrences to strive for their goals. They are patient yet aggressive in their chase. It’s the contagion effect at work that makes them see things in a different light. Things ain’t as simple as they are made out to be in history. When looked at it backwards, things look fabulously simple. Is it because they were inherently simple or is it a hind-sight bias so commonly overlooked? Clearly things cannot be as simple and the trajectory of this world cannot be as picture-perfect as it is made out to be in those sordid history books.

Being a trader, I understand. I understand the fallacy of expectations based on things known. I understand the hind-sight bias in full detail. I recognize the need to wait and capitalize on a Black Swan. Strangely, it is through my knowledge of how things don’t work that makes me apply that very realization for a profitable trade. A paradox it is. Just as it takes a story to displace a story, it takes knowledge to discard the powers of knowledge. As a jobber, if you wanna make it big you’ve got to take chances. The basic tenet of profit maximization is a greater risk exposure. But it doesn’t come with a privileged information or advanced technical know how. It comes with the realization that you know that you know that you don’t know. If you dont know that you dont know what you dont know you are doomed!

As a career enthusiast, I understand. I understand the need to focus more on tangible things than uncontrollable factors. I understand the need to remember the power of the bizarre and I recognize the need to re-orient my aspiration keeping that in mind. I understand the necessity of channeling my energy on things that include ‘strange’ in its SWOT treatment and I recognize the need to be swift and daring to be keen and enterprising.

As a mortal I understand the need to see things without judgment. I understand the great intellectual fraud that is the Bell Curve. I also realize the need to keep things abstract and under-stated.

Take your chances. Believe in the theory of randomness and you might come out a winner. Stay focused on your knowns and you relegate yourself to constancy.

1 Comment

  1. Interesting post. I agree with you on the point of greater exposure to risk to maximize profit.
    This post made me think a lot on my current state.
    Keep writing amazing stuff. Rock on buddy!

Leave a Reply

